The Florida Storytelling Association presents awards annually to members of the storytelling community who have demonstrated service to the advancement of the art of storytelling in the state of Florida.

The deadline for FSA Award nominations is December 11, 2020. The awards will be announced during the festival.

Award Nomination Form:

The Annette J. Bruce Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year one Annette J. Bruce Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals in the storytelling community who have dedicated their lives to the art form of storytelling and who have demonstrated meritorious service to the Florida Storytelling Association, as well as to the community of storytellers at large. Nominated individuals should be those who have expanded public awareness of the art of storytelling, by virtue of their organizational contributions, preservation of traditional art forms, or the significant originality of their body of work.

Award Nomination Form


  • 2019: Robin Schulte
  • 2018: Kaye Byrnes and Betty Fell
  • 2017: Ann Mancebo
  • 2016: Betsy Jones Hayba
  • 2015: Chris Kastle
  • 2014: Bob Patterson
  • 2013: Ann Scroggie
  • 2012: Shirley Bryce
  • 2011: Ada Forney
  • 2010: Pat Nease
  • 2009: Jane Sims
  • 2008: Steve Brooks
  • 2007: Melinda Munger and Phyllis Nesmith
  • 2006: Jeanne Menter
  • 2005: Elaine Kitchings
  • 2004: Cissie Griffin and Margaret Lawrence
  • 2003: Jim Mittelstadt and Virginia Rivers
  • 2002: Bert and Noel MacCarry
  • 2001: Annette J. Bruce and Jamye Green

Chuck Larkin Distinguished Service Award

Each year one  Chuck Larkin Distinguished Service Award is presented to those individuals who have contributed their time and energy in an exemplary manner on the state level to forward the work of the Florida Storytelling Association.

Award Nomination Form


  • 2020: Madeline Pots
  • 2018: Linda Schuyler Ford and Wanda Violet
  • 2017: Carrie Sue Ayvar
  • 2016: Mij Byram
  • 2015: Tamara Green
  • 2014: Jessica McCune, Mary Lou Williams, and Caren Neile
  • 2013: Roz Miller, Jim Gregory, and Robin Schulte
  • 2012: Terry Deer
  • 2011: Billie Noakes
  • 2010: Shirley Dunwoody and Herrick Jeffers
  • 2009: Ann Mancebo and Linda Spitzer
  • 2007: Kaye Byrnes

The Guild Service Award

The Guild Service Award is presented by the Florida Storytelling Association to those individuals whose outstanding support and activities within our member guilds and storytelling groups have maintained and significantly promoted storytelling in their local communities.

Award Nomination Form

Honorees from Florida:

  • 2020: Mary Webster
  • 2019: Mary Lee Sweet, Mary Lou Williams
  • 2018: Dr. Joel Ying, Sharon Sappington and Louise O’Leary
  • 2017: Carol Johnson, Madeline Pots, Jim Kissane 
  • 2016: Jack Copeland, Joyce Sabato, Maureen Belote, Pete and Rusty Abdalla
  • 2015: Marilyn Graham, Margaret Kaler, Jo Bridges and Wayne Garrett
  • 2013: MyLinda Butterworth
  • 2012: Pat Nease
  • 2008: Kim Rivers
  • 2007: Carrie Sue Ayvar
  • 2006: Karl Hallsten
  • 2005: Don Leonard and Caren Neile
  • 2000: Phyllis Nesmith
  • 1999: Tampa/Hillsborough County Storytelling Festival
  • 1996: Annette J. Bruce

Ambassador of Storytelling Award Nomination

Each year, one Ambassador of Storytelling Award is presented by the Florida Storytelling Association to an individual who promotes and shares enthusiasm for storytelling, encouraging both tellers and listeners.

Award Nomination Form


  • 2020: Jody Wren
  • 2019: Sallie O’Hara
  • 2018: James Glasser, Wayne Sims, and Autumn Huff Garrick
  • 2017: Pat Nease


The National Storytelling Network’s Oracle Awards have been presented annually during NSN’s national conference, to those who have excelled in their art, or made significant contributions to storytelling, NSN, or its members.

FSA Members that have received the NSN Oracle Award:
  • 2019 Robin Schulte
  • 2014 Jessica McCune